Recent News > 2017 Canadian Tourism Awards Winners

2017 Canadian Tourism Awards Winners

posted on November 29, 2017
GATINEAU, QC November 29, 2017 - Fourteen organizations and individuals were honoured tonight by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) as recipients of the 2017 Canadian Tourism Awards, presented by The Toronto Star.
The awards were presented earlier this evening in a ceremony at the Hilton Lac-Leamy in Gatineau, Quebec. 
"Tonight's Canadian Tourism Awards have showcased our diverse industry to the fullest. Myself and everyone at TIAC are honoured to recognize the outstanding innovation, dedication and expertise all of our nominees and winners again this year. Recognizing and celebrating these accomplishments is very important, as these industry successes ensure that Canada continues to be seen as a world-class destination," said TIAC President and CEO, Charlotte Bell.
“It is a privilege to join such impressive, hard-working high achievers, innovators, marketers and entrepreneurs who make Canada a top destination for tourists. Your hard work and dedication are what help grow this vital sector, and the warm welcome you provide each year to millions of visitors from around the world is what keeps them coming back again and again. On behalf of the Government of Canada, I offer sincere congratulations to all the winners and nominees of the 2017 Canadian Tourism Awards,” said Bardish Chagger, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister of Small Business and Tourism.
The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by TIAC to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada's tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to showcase Canada’s very best and offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.
The 2017 Winners are:
The Air Canada Business of the Year Award
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre – Sun Peaks, BC 
The VIA Rail Community Outreach Award
Great Wolf Lodge – Niagara Falls, ON 
The Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award
Half Corked Marathon: Oliver Osoyoos Winery Association – Oliver, BC
The VISA Canada Innovator of the Year Award
Parks Canada Cape Breton Field Unit – Louisbourg, NS 
The Pursuit Adventure/Outdoors Award
Au Diable Vert – Sutton, QC
The Diversey & Restaurants Canada Culinary Tourism Experience Award
The Flight Across the Top of Canada: Edible Canada – Vancouver, BC 
The Accor Hotels Marketing Campaign of the Year Award
“The Views are Different Here”: Tourism Toronto – Toronto, ON
The ITAC Aboriginal (Indigenous) Cultural Tourism Award
Tourism Industry of Wendake – Wendake, QC
The Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-Sized Business of the Year Award
WindsorEats – Windsor, ON
The WestJet Social Media Initiative of the Year Award
“Test Drive Canada”: Air Canada – Dorval, QC
The Transat Sustainable Tourism Award
Churchill Wild – Churchill, MB
The Tourism HR Tourism Employee of the Year Award
Debra Elless: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver – Vancouver, BC
The CANADA 150 Diversity Award
SESQUI Inc. – Toronto, ON
The Tourism Toronto Canadian Tourism Lifetime Achievement Award
Walter Oster 
- 30 -
For more information, please contact:
Marcela Diaz
Director of Public Affairs and Communication