Recent News > Notice of TIAC Annual General Meeting and Call for Nominations

Notice of TIAC Annual General Meeting and Call for Nominations

posted on October 9, 2014

The Tourism Industry Association of Canada's Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held Tuesday, November 25, 2014 at 10:30 am at the Westin Hotel in Ottawa, Ontario.

In accordance with TIAC's By-laws, this notice is to serve as the official notice of the AGM and the Call for Nominations for the 2014-2015 TIAC Board of Directors.

Working on behalf of TIAC's members, the Board members play a pivotal role in guiding Canada's national tourism organization towards a clear vision for the industry's future.

TIAC's By-laws allow Directors to serve for three two-year terms. As most of the current Directors are entering their second and third terms, the Nominating Committee wishes to put forward the following names of Board Directors seeking re-election:

  • Heather McCrory (Accommodations)
  • Robert Chartrand (Accommodations)
  • Drew Coles (Convention/Incentive Travel)
  • Michael Hannan (Travel Trade)
  • Andrew Lind (Travel Trade)
  • Mike McNaney (Transportation)
  • Danny Morton (Supplier)
  • Derek Vanstone (Transportation)

Although the Nominating Committee recommends the re-election of the above candidates, all TIAC members in good standing are permitted to stand for nomination or nominate candidates who are TIAC members in good standing for a two-year term of office which will run from December 2014 to November 2016 in any of the following categories:

  • Destinations
  • Accommodations
  • Transportation
  • Travel Trade
  • Industry Suppliers
  • Convention/Incentive Travel
  • Attractions/Events 

Please find attached the following documentation to assist you in the nomination process:  


Click here for the 2014 Annual General Meeting Agenda



Your nominations must include a biography or resume of the candidate and a letter of interest from the candidate and must be received at the TIAC Office no later than Friday, October 31, 2014.

Nominations will be reviewed by the Nominating Committee who are mandated to ensure an appropriate, balanced, cross-sector representation, regional representation and other skills-based representation. The final slate of candidates to be elected at the Annual General Meeting will be sent to members by November 10, 2014. 

If you require additional information, please contact Laura Hutchinson at  or 613-238-7887.