Members Area English | Français

2016 Canadian Tourism Award Winners & Finalists

Presented by:




The Air Canada Business of the Year Award

  • Brentwood Bay Resort and Spa – Victoria, BC   WINNER
  • Vancouver International Airport – Richmond, BC
  • Watermark Beach Resort – Osoyoos, BC



The VIA Rail Community Outreach Award

  • Great Wolf Lodge – Niagara Falls, ON   WINNER
  • The Westin Ottawa – Ottawa, ON
  • Tourism Toronto – Toronto, ON



The Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award

  • Canadian Soccer Association: FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 – National   WINNER
  • Folklorama– Winnipeg, MB
  • Oliver Osoyoos Winery Association: Half Corked Marathon – Oliver, BC



The VISA Canada Innovator of the Year Award

  • Headwaters Parade of Horses - Mono, ON   WINNER
  • Assiniboine Park Conservancy - Winnipeg, MB
  • Société de développement du Parc de la Gorge de Coaticook - Coaticook, QC



The Brewster Travel Canada Adventure/Outdoors Award

  • Churchill Wild – Churchill, MB   WINNER
  • Northern Edge Algonquin – South River, ON
  • Wilderness Tours – Foresters Falls, ON



The Culinary Tourism Experience Award

  • Alberta Culinary Tourism Alliance – Calgary, AB   WINNER
  • Calgary Food Tours – Calgary, AB
  • Ontario Culinary Tourism Alliance – Toronto, ON



The Fairmont Hotels and Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year Award

  • “Where Am I?” Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation – Toronto, ON   WINNER
  • “Crayons” Newfoundland and Labrador Tourism – St. John’s, NL
  • “Where Ontario Gets Real” Headwaters Tourism – Mono, ON



The ATAC National Aboriginal (Indigenous) Cultural Tourism Award

  • Wanuskewin Heritage Park – Saskatoon, SK   WINNER
  • Eskasoni Cultural Journeys - Eskasoni, NS
  • Long Ago People’s Place – Champagne Landing, YT



The Parks Canada National Cultural Tourism Award  

  • Fort William Historical Park – Thunder Bay, ON   WINNER
  • Celtic Heart of North America – Cape Breton, NS
  • Cité Mémoire – Montréal, QC



The Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-Sized Business of the Year Award

  • Experience PEI, Stratford, PE   WINNER
  • Oak Hammock Marsh Interpretive Centre, Oak Hammock Marsh, MB
  • Ocean River Sports & Adventure, Victoria, BC



The WestJet Social Media/Digital Marketing Initiative of the Year Award

  • “Paint the Town” contest by Newfoundland and Labrador – St. John’s, NL   WINNER
  • “Old Québec” section by Québec City Tourism – Québec, QC
  • “The Trump Bump” Destination Cape Breton – Sydney, NS



The Transat AT Inc. Sustainable Tourism Award

  • Eagle Wing Tours Ltd. – Victoria, BC   WINNER
  • Churchill Wild – Churchill, MB
  • Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre – Vancouver, BC



The Tourism HR Canada Tourism Employee of the Year Award

  • Dan Cardinal, Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel – Saskatoon, SK   WINNER
  • Jose Reineking, Banff and Lake Louise Tourism – Field, BC (Banff, AB)
  • Maria De Vera, Campus Tower Suite Hotel – Edmonton, AB